Best Broadband Plan Malaysia 2026: Unifi vs TIME vs Maxis vs YES Compared
The short answer: TIME is the best-value fibre plan if it covers your address. Unifi covers the widest area in Malaysia. Maxis makes sense if your household is already on their mobile plan. If you need something without a fixed installation, all five operators now sell a plug-in 5G box — compared here, with the quotas and contracts they bury. Check your coverage first: half of the plans on this page won't exist at your postcode.
Malaysia Broadband Plans: 2026 Comparison Table
Standard 24-month contracts unless noted, and every figure is a pre-tax monthly rate, because Malaysian broadband is quoted before the 6% service tax. † TIME covers primarily condos and high-density apartments in KL, Selangor, Penang, and JB, so check your address before applying. ‡ TIME's own terms state the 2Gbps plan "is only available in selected locations", which is narrower than the rest of TIME's footprint.
One thing to read before you sign anything: the monthly price below is fixed, but the card your auto-debit runs on is not, and after the 2025 cashback cull most Malaysians are paying their bill with a card that returns nothing. The ringgit on that is further down: RM 77 to RM 89 a year on a typical fibre plan, plus the four conditions that quietly zero it out.
| Provider | Speed (Down) | Price/mo | Upload Speed | Contract | Coverage |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Unifi | 100 Mbps | RM89 | Asymmetric | 24-mo | Nationwide (entry tier) |
| Unifi | 300 Mbps | RM129 | Asymmetric | 24-mo | Nationwide |
| Unifi | 500 Mbps | RM149 | Asymmetric | 24-mo | Nationwide |
| Unifi | 1 Gbps | RM249 | Asymmetric | 24-mo | Nationwide |
| TIME | 200 Mbps | RM99 | 200 Mbps ✅ | 24-mo | KL/PG/JB † |
| TIME | 600 Mbps | RM99 for 6 mths, then RM139 | 500 Mbps | 24-mo | KL/PG/JB † |
| TIME | 1 Gbps | RM199 | 500 Mbps | 24-mo | KL/PG/JB † |
| TIME | 2 Gbps | RM379 | 500 Mbps | 24-mo | Selected locations ‡ |
| Maxis | 300 Mbps | RM129 | Asymmetric | 24-mo | Klang Valley+ |
| Maxis | 500 Mbps | RM149 | Asymmetric | 24-mo | Klang Valley+ |
| Maxis | 1 Gbps | RM249 | Asymmetric | 24-mo | Klang Valley+ |
| YES Gateway | 5G Advanced (uncapped) | RM68* / RM75 / RM99 | 5G (varies) | 12, 24 or 36-mo | 82% pop. coverage |
| YES Flexi | 5G Advanced (uncapped) | RM58 | 5G (varies) | None | 82% pop. coverage |
Every row in this table was read off the four providers' own plan pages on 25 September 2026, from time.com.my, unifi.com.my/fibre-broadband, maxis.com.my/en/broadband and yes.my/yes-5g-broadband. Nothing here is carried over from an earlier check. Unifi's RM89 / RM129 / RM149 and Maxis's RM89 / RM129 / RM149 are promotional rates against an RRP of RM99 / RM139 / RM159; Maxis labels its as "for the first 24 months", Unifi as a RM10 saving. Neither operator publishes an upload figure for any tier, which is why their upload column reads "asymmetric" rather than a number. *YES prices all three on one card: RM68 is a limited-time offer, RM75 is for existing Yes Postpaid customers and RM99 is the normal price; the same three appear under the 12, 24 and 36-month tabs, so treat the contract length and the price as separate choices rather than a fixed pairing.
Unifi — Malaysia's Widest Coverage, With Caveats
Unifi (TM) is the default broadband provider for most of Malaysia. Their network reaches nationwide — suburban Selangor, Johor towns, Sabah, Sarawak — places where TIME and Maxis simply don't exist. If you live in landed property, a kampung, or anywhere outside a major city's condo belt, Unifi is almost certainly your only fibre option.
Unifi's current lineup spans five tiers, and the entry point is now 100Mbps: 100Mbps at RM89/month promotional (RM99 RRP), 300Mbps at RM129 (RM139 RRP), 500Mbps at RM149 (RM159 RRP), 1Gbps at RM249 (RM289 RRP) and 2Gbps at RM319. The old 30Mbps RM69 entry tier has been withdrawn. If you are still on it, you are on a legacy plan Unifi no longer sells. Verify at unifi.com.my. On 25 September 2026 the 100, 300 and 500Mbps cards each carried a "3 Months Free" badge alongside free standard installation; the 1Gbps and 2Gbps cards did not. All plans are 24-month contracts. (Unifi pricing re-verified against unifi.com.my on 25 September 2026 and unchanged. The RM89/RM129/RM149 figures are promotional prices against a higher RRP, not permanent list prices.)
The honest caveat: Unifi's nighttime performance is its weakest point. Forums on Lowyat are full of users documenting 300–1000ms ping, packet loss, and crawling speeds to international servers after 9 PM. Domestic traffic (to Malaysian servers, streaming local content) is generally fine. International gaming, watching Netflix via non-MY servers, or video calls to someone overseas — that's where Unifi's congestion at peak hours becomes noticeable.
Unifi's upload speeds are asymmetric and not publicly disclosed for most plans. Real-world tests typically show uploads running at 10–30% of the advertised download speed. Fine for basic use; a limitation for heavy uploaders.
For a detailed one-on-one comparison of TIME and Unifi's plans, speeds, and customer service track record, see our TIME vs Unifi head-to-head comparison.
Check Unifi Plans & CoverageTIME Internet — Best Value Per Ringgit (Where It's Available)
TIME runs their own fibre network — separate from TM's infrastructure — primarily across condominiums and high-rise apartments in Kuala Lumpur, Selangor, Penang, and Johor Bahru. If you're in a TIME-covered building, the value proposition is genuinely difficult to argue against.
200Mbps for RM99/month, symmetrical — meaning 200Mbps download and 200Mbps upload. No other Malaysian fibre provider offers symmetrical speeds. For context, a typical Unifi 500Mbps plan costs RM149 and delivers a fraction of that in upload. TIME's entry plan outperforms most competitors on the metric that actually matters for remote work and real-time applications.
The 600Mbps tier is the one to look at right now, and the headline price is not the plan price. TIME's board sells it at RM99 for the first six months against an RRP of RM139, with 500Mbps upload. For six months it costs exactly what the 200Mbps plan costs and gives you three times the download. Then it steps up to RM139 in month seven and runs there for the remaining 18 months of the contract. Over the full 24 months that averages about RM129 a month. Worth doing the sum before you treat RM99 as the price: at RM139 the 600Mbps plan is 4.3 Mbps of download per ringgit, still the best ratio TIME sells, but it is not RM99 broadband.
TIME now sells a 2Gbps tier at RM379/month, with the same 500Mbps upload as the 1Gbps plan, so above 600Mbps you are buying download headroom only. TIME's own terms attach a caveat the plan cards don't: "Our 2Gbps plan is only available in selected locations." That is narrower than TIME's ordinary coverage, which is already narrow, so the 2Gbps plan appearing on the website tells you nothing about whether it exists at your building. For almost every household this is the wrong plan, because at RM379 you are paying RM180 more than the 1Gbps tier for bandwidth a home network rarely saturates. It earns its place here because TIME is the provider this page picks, and a comparison that stops at 1Gbps is incomplete on its own winner.
Two add-ons appear on every TIME plan card and are easy to miss when you budget: mesh WiFi from RM15/month, and Fibre-To-The-Room from RM27.50/month on the 600Mbps tier and above (the latter also flagged as available in selected locations only). TIME's prices, like everyone's, are quoted before the 6% service tax.
TIME also launched no-contract fibre plans in January 2026 — the first Malaysian fibre provider to do so. The monthly rate is the same as the 24-month plan, with a one-time charge instead of a contract: RM400 for 200Mbps, RM650 for 600Mbps, RM800 for 1Gbps. Two catches worth knowing. The one-time-fee waiver promo expired in February 2026, so the charge now applies. And TIME states that all displayed promotions apply to 24-month contract plans — which means the RM99-for-six-months offer on 600Mbps does not come with the no-contract version. A no-contract 600Mbps subscriber pays RM139 from month one.
The single, non-negotiable limitation: TIME doesn't cover most of Malaysia. If you're in landed housing, outside the Klang Valley or the two other major urban corridors, or in East Malaysia — it won't be available at your address. Check time.com.my before getting attached to these numbers.
Check TIME Coverage & PlansMaxis Home Fibre — The Bundle Equation
Maxis resells TM's HSBB fibre infrastructure — meaning in most areas, the last-mile network is physically the same as Unifi. What differentiates Maxis is their own backbone and international peering, which users on tech forums consistently rate above Unifi for routing quality to international servers.
Standalone Maxis fibre plans: 100Mbps at RM89, 300Mbps at RM129, 500Mbps at RM149, 1Gbps at RM249 and 2Gbps at RM319. Those are the first-24-month rates; the RRP behind them is RM10 higher on the three middle tiers (RM99 / RM139 / RM159), and the 1Gbps and 2Gbps plans carry no promotional discount at all. At the top tier Maxis and Unifi are now priced identically at RM249, so 1Gbps comes down to coverage and routing rather than price.
Where Maxis becomes genuinely compelling is the bundle. Read first-party on 25 September 2026: the Maxis Family Plan 299 bundles 500Mbps home fibre with 3 unlimited 4G/5G mobile lines for RM299/month, and the Family Plan 399 bundles 1Gbps with 4 lines for RM399/month, plus a device rebate of up to RM1,000. Extra share lines are RM48 each on either tier, and Maxis's own worked example puts a family of four on Plan 299 at RM347/month, or about RM87 a head, with the 500Mbps line included at no extra cost. For a household of 3–4 already paying separately for broadband and mobile, the arithmetic usually favours the bundle.
Coverage is primarily Klang Valley, selected Penang, and Johor Bahru. Less broad than Unifi's national reach. If Maxis fibre isn't available at your address, their standalone mobile data (4G/5G) can serve as a backup — but that's a different use case.
View Maxis Home Fibre PlansYES 5G — The No-Installation Alternative
YES operates on 5G Advanced (the latest-generation network) with a genuine differentiator: no fixed installation required. You get a plug-and-play wireless router that works wherever 5G signal reaches. For renters, short-term occupants, or anyone in a building that won't let the landlord approve fibre installation, YES is a real option.
If the connection needs to travel rather than sit at one address, a battery-powered MiFi is the other side of this decision — and the per-GB maths is very different from home broadband. See portable WiFi in Malaysia: which SIM, and what each option costs per GB.
YES sells two shapes of the same service, and the difference is the router. Gateway is the plan with the device: uncapped 5G Advanced data plus 500GB of 4G, a free Infinite Gateway MAX router that YES prices at RM1,199, and a 7-day return window. It carries three prices on one card: RM68 as a limited-time offer, RM75 for existing Yes Postpaid customers, RM99 as the normal price, and those same three appear under the 12, 24 and 36-month contract tabs. On a 12-month term the router costs RM299 instead of being free. The router does NFC tap-to-connect and handles up to 10 devices.
Flexi is the one that changes the answer for renters. RM58/month, SIM only, no contract, uncapped 5G Advanced data with 100GB of 4G, and you supply your own 5G router. It is the cheapest genuinely contract-free home connection on this page, and it is new enough that most Malaysian broadband roundups still say YES only sells 24 and 36-month plans. If you take the Gateway bundle instead, YES states that Early Termination Charges apply if you leave inside the term.
The real-world performance question is signal. Malaysia's 5G population coverage is 82.4%, but building penetration varies significantly — concrete walls, distance from towers, and floor level all affect indoor signal. Before signing anything, test 5G signal at your address on a 5G phone first, and run the coverage checker on the operator's own broadband page. Malaysia's median 5G speed was 242 Mbps in Q3 2025 — faster than entry-level fibre, but inconsistent across locations.
The Upload Speed Gap Nobody Talks About
Every broadband comparison in Malaysia leads with download speed. Here's what they skip: upload speed is what determines your actual experience as a user in 2026.
Video calls (Zoom, Teams, Google Meet) use symmetric bandwidth — the quality of the call depends as much on your upload as your download. Cloud backup, syncing files to Google Drive or Dropbox, uploading to YouTube, streaming on TikTok Live — all upload-bound. Most Malaysian households now have at least one person working remotely.
TIME is the only Malaysian fibre provider offering fully symmetrical speeds. Their 200Mbps plan delivers 200Mbps up. Their 600Mbps plan delivers 500Mbps up. Compare that to Unifi and Maxis, which use asymmetric configurations — real-world uploads on a Unifi 500Mbps plan typically test at 50–80Mbps, not 500Mbps.
If you're choosing between TIME and Unifi at a similar price point and TIME covers your address: the upload difference alone makes TIME the better choice for any work-from-home or content-creation household.
No-Contract Broadband in Malaysia — Your Real Options
If you rent, move frequently, or simply don't want to be locked in for 24 months, here's what genuinely exists:
| Option | Speed | Price/mo | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| TIME No-Contract Fibre | 200 Mbps (symmetrical) | RM99 + RM400 one-time | Best fibre option; only in TIME coverage areas |
| TIME No-Contract Fibre | 600 Mbps | RM139 + RM650 one-time | The RM99-for-6-months promo is 24-month-contract only, so you pay RM139 from month one |
| TIME No-Contract Fibre | 1 Gbps | RM199 + RM800 one-time | Highest no-contract fibre tier TIME lists; no 2Gbps no-contract option |
| YES Flexi | 5G Advanced (uncapped) + 100GB 4G | RM58 | SIM only, so you supply the router. Cheapest genuine no-contract option here |
| U Mobile ULTRA Home 5G (SIM only) | 5G wireless (uncapped) | Not published | U Mobile's FAQ: "no contract tied to this plan… cancel anytime without any penalties". The RM68 card is the router bundle, which has a minimum commitment |
| Unifi Air 5G (SIM only) | Unlimited 5G, FUP 1TB | RM99 | Unifi's page contradicts itself, see below. Past 1TB/month, speed may drop to 512kbps |
Every row read off the providers' own pages on 25 September 2026: time.com.my, yes.my/yes-5g-broadband, u.com.my/en/personal/broadband/wireless and unifi.com.my/broadband/wireless. YES's Gateway bundle still carries a 12, 24 or 36-month term; only Flexi is contract-free.
One page here disagrees with itself, and you should know which. Unifi Air's plan selector has a "SIM only / No contract" tab, and the structured data behind that tab says in terms: "No contract (24-month contract applies only if a device add-on is taken)." Unifi's own FAQ on the same page answers "Will I be tied to a contract?" with "Yes, the Unifi Air 5G plan comes with a 24-month contract commitment upon subscription." Both statements are live on unifi.com.my today. We are not guessing which one a Unifi salesperson will honour. Get the contract term confirmed in writing before you pay.
The TIME no-contract plan is the best fibre option for renters — same speed as the contract plan, you just pay a one-time charge upfront instead of committing to 24 months. The RM400 upfront cost breaks even at month 24 anyway (same total outlay as a contract plan with installation subsidised by the term). Two catches: availability is limited to TIME's fibre coverage zone, and the promotional rates do not come with it.
For renters outside TIME's network, YES Flexi at RM58 is now the cheapest no-strings option, cheaper than every fibre plan on this page and the only one you can cancel next month. You buy your own 5G router, which is the trade. Pair whichever you pick with our cashback credit card guide if you're actively managing household expenses, because the right card can offset a meaningful chunk of your monthly bills.
5G Home WiFi: The Plug-In Alternative, Priced Honestly
Fibre is not the only way to get a home connection any more, and every major operator now sells a plug-in 5G box. The pitch is identical across all five (no installation, no drilling, move it when you move), so the thing that separates them is the fine print: how much data before the speed drops, and how long you are tied in.
| Plan | Price/mo | Speed | Data / quota | Contract |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| YES Flexi (SIM only) | RM58 | Uncapped 5G Advanced | Uncapped 5G + 100GB 4G | None |
| YES Gateway (with router) | RM68 promo / RM75 Yes Postpaid / RM99 normal | Uncapped 5G Advanced | Uncapped 5G + 500GB 4G | 12, 24 or 36-mo |
| Maxis 5G Home WiFi 69 | RM69 | Not stated | 150GB 5G/4G | Not stated on plan page |
| Maxis 5G Home WiFi 99 | RM79 (RRP RM99) | Up to 100 Mbps | Unlimited 5G/4G | 12 or 24-mo (rebate period) |
| Maxis 5G Home WiFi 139 | RM109 (RRP RM139) | Uncapped | Unlimited 5G/4G | 12 or 24-mo (rebate period) |
| Maxis 5G Plus Home WiFi 159 | RM129 (RRP RM159) | Uncapped | Unlimited 5G/4G | 24-mo (router + mesh) |
| CelcomDigi Essential | RM89 (RRP RM99) | Up to 100 Mbps | Unlimited 5G/4G | Not stated on plan page |
| CelcomDigi Premium | RM109 (RRP RM149) | Unlimited 5G speeds | Unlimited 5G/4G | Not stated on plan page |
| U Mobile ULTRA Home 5G (SIM + router) | RM68 promo (RM78 normal) | Uncapped | 1,000GB FUP quota | Minimum commitment applies |
| U Mobile ULTRA Home 5G Pro | RM98 (before tax) | Uncapped, 8×8 MIMO | 2,000GB FUP quota | 24 or 36-mo |
| Unifi Air 5G (SIM + device) | RM69 / RM99 / RM149 | Unlimited 5G | 120GB (RM69) / unlimited, 1TB FUP (RM99) | 24-mo |
All eleven rows read first-party on 25 September 2026, from yes.my/yes-5g-broadband, maxis.com.my/en/broadband/maxis-home-wifi, celcomdigi.com/fibre/home-wifi, u.com.my/en/personal/broadband/wireless and unifi.com.my/broadband/wireless. "Not stated" means the operator does not publish that figure on its own plan page. It is a gap in their disclosure, not in ours. Prices exclude the 6% service tax; U Mobile says so explicitly for ULTRA Home 5G Pro.
Three things this table shows that the marketing doesn't. First, "unlimited" is doing different work for different operators: U Mobile publishes a hard FUP quota (1,000GB, or 2,000GB on Pro) and Unifi tells you what happens when you cross it: past 1TB in a month, speed may drop to 512kbps for the rest of the cycle, which is dial-up with extra steps. Maxis and CelcomDigi publish no quota at all for their unlimited tiers.
Second, the cheap tiers are speed-capped and say so quietly. Maxis 5G Home WiFi 99 and CelcomDigi Essential are both "up to 100Mbps", the same ceiling as Unifi's RM89 entry fibre plan, without fibre's consistency. Paying RM79–RM89 for a capped wireless line only makes sense if fibre genuinely isn't available to you.
Third, U Mobile's flagship is West Malaysia only. U Mobile's own FAQ says ULTRA Home 5G Pro "is currently available in West Malaysia", so the plan with the best quota on this table is unavailable to exactly the readers with the worst fibre options, in Sabah and Sarawak.
If you are choosing between wireless and fibre at all, read the bill-cashback section below as well, because wireless plans auto-debit the same way fibre does, and the card the bill runs on is worth more per year than the RM10 difference between two of these tiers.
Coverage Matters More Than Speed Tiers
This sounds obvious but it bears saying directly: the speed tier you choose matters far less than which provider is actually available at your address. A TIME 200Mbps plan at RM99 is irrelevant if TIME doesn't cover your building. A Maxis 1Gbps plan at RM249 doesn't exist if Maxis hasn't extended their fibre to your area.
The practical guide:
- In KL/Selangor/Penang/JB condo or apartment: Check TIME first — coverage checker at time.com.my. If available, it's the best fibre value. If not, choose between Unifi and Maxis.
- In landed housing, Klang Valley suburb: Unifi is the most reliable option. Maxis may be available in newer developments — check maxis.com.my.
- Outside major urban areas (Nilai, Seremban, Ipoh, Kuantan, Kota Bharu): Unifi via JENDELA is the primary option. YES/U Mobile 5G as a wireless alternative if signal is strong.
- East Malaysia (Sabah, Sarawak): Unifi is essentially the only real fibre provider. YES 5G covers 68.6% of Sabah and 62% of Sarawak — signal quality is more variable than Peninsula.
The Plan Price Is Fixed. What You Pay It With Isn't
Nobody haggles a broadband price in Malaysia. The promo window is the operator's to set and RM129 is RM129 the day you sign. The one variable still under your control is the card the monthly auto-debit runs on, and after the 2025 cashback cull most Malaysians are running it on a card that now pays them nothing.
What still pays on a TM/Unifi bill is the CIMB Cash Rebate Platinum, at 5% when the bill is set up as a Standing Instruction inside CIMB Clicks. Two conditions bite: your total monthly card spend has to cross RM 3,000, and the rebate is capped at RM 30/month across all your utilities combined.
Four things that will quietly zero this out, and they are the reason most people think bill cashback is a myth:
- The RM 30 cap is shared. It covers TNB and Astro too. A RM 200 TNB bill at 5% already eats RM 10 of it, and a large household can exhaust the cap before broadband is counted at all.
- JomPAY strips it. JomPAY is the default utility route inside Maybank2u, CIMB Clicks, RHB Now and PBe. It is a payment rail, not a cashback route. You need Standing Instruction or autopay set directly on unifi.com.my with the card attached.
- TIME is not on the confirmed list. Our utility-bill research verified TNB, TM/Unifi and Astro as the qualifying billers. TIME subscribers should treat the 5% as unconfirmed rather than assume it applies.
- Your old recommendation is probably dead. Maybank removed utility cashback across its whole range on 1 December 2025, UOB pulled it from ONE and EVOL on 31 October 2025, Standard Chartered killed it on Simply Cash in April 2025, and Public Bank swapped Quantum's cashback for VIP Points in early 2026.
The full breakdown, including the cap-versus-spend table that tells you which card survives your specific bill profile, is in our best credit card for utility bills guide. Malay readers: baca versi Bahasa Malaysia.
To be straight about what this does and doesn't do: the right card pays you back on the bill. It does not get you a cheaper plan, it does not improve your coverage, and it is worth nothing if TIME is available at your address and you pick Unifi over it to chase RM 77. Sort the plan out first using the verdict below. Then sort out the card. Browsing the comparison involves no credit check; you only trigger one if you actually submit an application.
Compare cashback cards for bill autopayOur Verdict: Best Broadband Plan by Situation
You live in a TIME-covered building
TIME 600Mbps at RM99 for six months, RM139 after. It costs the same as the 200Mbps plan for half a year and averages about RM129 over the 24 months, for three times the download and 500Mbps upload. Free installation on both. Take the 200Mbps plan at a flat RM99 instead if you want the price never to move, or if fully symmetrical 200/200 upload matters more than download headroom. The 2Gbps tier at RM379 exists but is selected-locations-only and overkill for almost everyone.
You're in landed housing or outside Klang Valley / Penang / JB
Unifi 300Mbps at RM129/mo. Widest nationwide coverage, reliable domestic performance. Upgrade to 500Mbps if you have 4+ heavy users. Avoid peak-hour international streaming on Unifi if possible.
Your household has 3–4 Maxis Postpaid lines
Maxis Family Plan: 500Mbps + 3 lines at RM299/mo total. Better international routing than Unifi, and the bundled mobile lines typically make the math work in your favour versus paying separately.
You rent and can't or won't commit to 24 months
TIME no-contract fibre (if available), otherwise YES Flexi at RM58. TIME gives you proper fibre with no lock-in for a RM400–RM800 one-time charge; YES Flexi is SIM-only, contract-free and the cheapest monthly line on this page, but you buy the router. Confirm 5G signal at the exact spot the router will sit before choosing the wireless route.
You need the fastest upload speed for WFH or content creation
TIME — full stop. 200Mbps symmetrical at RM99, or 500Mbps upload on the 600Mbps plan (RM99 for six months, RM139 after). Every TIME tier above 200Mbps, including the RM379 2Gbps plan, gives you the same 500Mbps up — so once you are on 600Mbps, paying more buys download only. No competitor publishes an upload figure at all.
You're a gamer who plays on international servers
Maxis or TIME, depending on coverage. Both have better international routing than Unifi. Unifi's nighttime peak congestion is a real and documented problem for international gaming. If you're stuck with Unifi, consider a DNS/VPN solution to improve routing.
If TIME covers your address, subscribe to TIME, and as at 25 September 2026 the tier to take is 600Mbps at RM99 for six months, RM139 thereafter, which averages roughly RM129 across the contract for 600 down and 500 up. TIME's flat-RM99 200Mbps plan is still the better pick if you want a price that never moves or if you specifically need fully symmetrical 200/200. If TIME isn't available, Unifi gives you the widest coverage and a reliable domestic network; budget RM129 for the 300Mbps tier. Maxis earns its place for households on their mobile ecosystem, where the Family Plan 299 folds 500Mbps and three unlimited lines into one bill. And if you rent or need flexibility, TIME's no-contract fibre and YES Flexi at RM58 are the two options that genuinely don't tie you to a term.
Once the plan is settled, the second half of the job is the card the bill runs on. That is the section above. On a RM 129 Unifi line that is RM 77 a year you are otherwise leaving with the bank, and it costs a five-minute Standing Instruction setup you do once.
Compare cashback cards for bill autopayFrequently Asked Questions
What internet speed do I actually need for my home?
For a single user: 100Mbps is more than enough for 4K streaming, video calls, and casual gaming. For 3–5 devices running simultaneously (streaming, WFH, gaming): 300–500Mbps. For a household of heavy users or smart home devices: 1Gbps. The number most people get wrong is upload speed — if you're on video calls (Zoom, Teams) or upload files to the cloud, check the upload speed, not just download.
Can I get broadband without a telephone landline in Malaysia?
Yes. All major fibre providers (Unifi, TIME, Maxis) deliver over fibre optic cables and do not require an active telephone line. Wireless options (YES 5G, U Mobile ULTRA Home 5G, CelcomDigi 5G Home WiFi, Maxis 5G Home WiFi, Unifi Air 5G) need no installation at all — you insert the SIM, plug the router in, and you are online. The old requirement for a copper telephone line only applied to ADSL internet, which is effectively obsolete in urban Malaysia.
Which broadband plan is best for gaming in Malaysia?
For local (Malaysian) servers: any 100Mbps+ plan works fine — local ping is typically 5–20ms on all major providers. For international servers (SEA, US, EU): Maxis and TIME consistently have better international routing than Unifi. Unifi users on Lowyat frequently report 300–600ms ping and packet loss to international servers during peak hours (9–11 PM). If you game on international servers regularly, avoid Unifi unless it's your only option.
What are my options if I rent and can't commit to a 2-year contract?
Three that are genuinely contract-free as at 25 September 2026: (1) TIME no-contract fibre, at the same RM99 (200Mbps), RM139 (600Mbps) or RM199 (1Gbps) monthly rate, plus a one-time charge of RM400, RM650 or RM800 respectively. TIME's RM99-for-six-months promo on 600Mbps is a 24-month-contract offer, so no-contract subscribers pay RM139 from month one. Only available where TIME covers. (2) YES Flexi, RM58/month, SIM only, no contract, uncapped 5G Advanced data plus 100GB of 4G. (3) U Mobile's ULTRA Home 5G SIM-only plan, which U Mobile's own FAQ says has no contract and can be cancelled without penalty; U Mobile does not publish a SIM-only price on its broadband page, so ask before you sign. Anything bundled with a free router (YES Gateway, U Mobile's RM68 router bundle, Unifi Air, CelcomDigi and Maxis 5G Home WiFi) carries a minimum commitment.
How do I check if TIME fibre covers my address?
Go to time.com.my and enter your postcode or address in the coverage checker. TIME covers primarily condos and high-rise apartments in Kuala Lumpur, Selangor, Penang, and Johor Bahru. Landed properties, suburban areas, and East Malaysia are almost entirely outside TIME's network. If the checker says unavailable, Unifi is your best fibre alternative — their JENDELA programme has expanded nationwide coverage significantly.
Which Malaysian broadband plan has the best upload speed?
TIME — by a wide margin. Their 200Mbps plan is fully symmetrical: 200Mbps download AND 200Mbps upload. The 600Mbps plan offers 500Mbps upload. No other Malaysian fibre provider publishes symmetrical upload speeds. Unifi and Maxis are asymmetric — they don't disclose exact upload figures, but real-world tests typically show 10–30% of the advertised download speed. For video calls, cloud uploads, content creators, or anyone working from home seriously, TIME's upload advantage is material.
What happens if I move house before my 24-month broadband contract ends?
It depends on the provider and whether they cover your new address. Unifi allows relocation if your new address is covered — contact TM to arrange the transfer. If Unifi doesn't cover the new address, you may face an early termination fee. TIME's own terms say the 12 or 24-month contract is tied to the service address and that relocation is subject to coverage availability. Maxis policies follow their standard contract terms. If you're likely to move, TIME's no-contract fibre option or a contract-free wireless plan (YES Flexi, U Mobile SIM-only) removes this risk entirely.
Why did my broadband bill go up after six months?
Because the headline price was a promotional rate, not the plan price. TIME advertises 600Mbps at RM99 for the first six months against a recommended retail price of RM139. From month seven you pay RM139. Unifi and Maxis do the same thing over a longer window: Unifi's RM89, RM129 and RM149 tiers are RM10 below an RRP of RM99, RM139 and RM159, and Maxis states its RM89, RM129 and RM149 fibre rates as "for the first 24 months". Maxis 5G Home WiFi rebates run 12 or 24 months. Work out the total over the full contract at the post-promo price before you compare two plans, and note that Malaysian broadband prices are quoted before the 6% service tax.
What does it cost to cancel a Malaysian broadband contract early?
Every contracted provider charges something, and most of them do not publish the figure on the plan page. YES states that Early Termination Charges apply if you end a Gateway plan inside the contract. U Mobile states that an Early Termination Penalty and any outstanding router balance may apply on ULTRA Home 5G Pro, and that even a downgrade during the contract can trigger it. Unifi's fibre plans run 24 months, and Unifi Air's FAQ states a 24-month commitment. Ask for the exact ringgit figure in writing before you sign. On a bundled plan it usually includes the unpaid balance on the "free" router, which YES values at RM1,199 and U Mobile at RM1,200 for the Huawei H168.
Is 5G home WiFi as fast as the advertised speed at my address?
Not necessarily. With 5G, the speed you get is a property of your address, not of the plan. CelcomDigi says outright that reliability "may vary depending on your area's 5G/4G coverage", and Unifi's coverage map carries a disclaimer that it is informational guidance only and does not guarantee service in a specific location. Floor level, concrete walls and distance from the tower all matter. Check the operator's own tool before subscribing: TIME and Unifi at time.com.my and unifi.com.my, Maxis at maxis.com.my/en/broadband/coverage, plus U Mobile's and YES's coverage checkers on their broadband pages. Better still, test 5G on a phone at the exact spot the router will sit.
Last updated: 25 September 2026. On that date every plan price on this page (TIME, Unifi and Maxis fibre, the YES, Maxis, CelcomDigi, U Mobile and Unifi Air wireless ranges, and the Maxis Family Plan bundles) was re-read from the providers' own pages in a single pass, so the three tables above now carry one verification date each rather than three different ones. What changed: TIME's 2Gbps tier at RM379 was added, TIME's 600Mbps is shown as RM99 for six months against an RM139 RRP, YES's contract-free Flexi plan at RM58 was added, and the Unifi Air row was corrected: it is a 5G product at RM69–RM149, not the LTE 20Mbps/RM79 plan previously listed here. The only figures on this page not re-verified on 25 September are the coverage and median-speed statistics (82.4% 5G population coverage, 68.6% Sabah, 62% Sarawak, 242 Mbps median in Q3 2025) and the utility-card research in the bill-cashback section, which are dated where they appear. Broadband pricing and promotional offers change frequently, so confirm current rates directly with the provider before signing.