Written & reviewed by our editorial team · Ranked under our comparison methodology
Disclosure: SmarterPik earns a commission when you apply through some of the links on this page, at no extra cost to you. Our rankings are editorially independent. Learn more.
🇲🇾 Malaysia

Best No Annual Fee Credit Card Malaysia 2026: Free-for-Life vs Waiver Conditions

Three. That is how many of Malaysia's nine biggest card issuers will put the words "no conditions" next to "free for life" in their own fee documents. We opened all nine on 27 September 2026 and read them, and the gap between what the marketing says and what the fee schedule says is where Malaysians get billed.

Here is the problem in one sentence. "No annual fee" in Malaysia usually means "annual fee waived", and a waiver is a decision the bank can stop making. Sometimes it lasts a year. Sometimes it survives only if you swipe 12 times. Sometimes you have to phone up and ask.

Short answer: Maybank 2 Gold Cards is the pick. Lifetime fee waiver on both principal and supplementary cards, RM30,000 minimum income, and 5% cashback on weekend spend capped at RM50 a month. Free cards that earn nothing lose to free cards that earn RM240 a year. If you want the condition question answered in writing, take the Hong Leong I'm Card instead.

One number to hold onto before you read the table: RM25. That is the annual service tax on every credit card in Malaysia, and it is charged on free-for-life cards too. Alliance Bank says so in its own words further down.

Already know you want one? RinggitPlus shows the fee line for every Malaysian card side by side, and checking does not touch your CCRIS record.

Compare no-annual-fee cards, free, 2 minutes

What each issuer actually prints in its fee schedule

Read the fourth column first. The fee amount is the least interesting number on this table. What decides whether you get billed in year two is the condition, and three issuers do not publish one at all.

Card (issuer) Stated annual fee Free for life, or a waiver? The exact condition Year 2 if you miss it Source read 27 Sep 2026
Hong Leong I'm Card Clearest Wording Waived for life Truly free for life None. The bank's own FAQ asks "Are there any condition to enjoy Annual Fee waiver?" and answers "waived for life with no conditions attached". Nothing hlb.com.my card page
PB Quantum Visa / Mastercard (Public Bank) Free-For-Life Truly free for life None. Public Bank's rates page uses the phrase "Free-For-Life without condition". Nothing pbebank.com rates page
AmBank Enrich Visa Platinum Free For Life Truly free for life None. AmBank's fees document says "Free For Life with no conditions" for principal and supplementary. Nothing AmBank fees PDF, eff. 11 Aug 2026
UOB Simple Card / UOB Basic Card No annual fees No fee exists to waive None. UOB's annual fee table shows a dash in both fee columns and "Complimentary annual fee" in the spend column. Nothing UOB fee table, eff. Jan 2026
Maybank 2 Gold Cards Editor's Pick Lifetime fee waiver Lifetime waiver. Maybank does not print "no conditions" None published. The card page states "Lifetime Fee Waiver for Principal and Supplementary Cards" and stops there. Not published maybank2u.com.my card page
SC Platinum Mastercard Basic (Standard Chartered) Waived for life Lifetime waiver. No "no conditions" line None published. The fees table on the card page reads "Annual Fees: Waived for life", directly above "Service Tax: RM25". Not published sc.com/my card page
UOB ONE Platinum Card RM 195 (supp RM 100) Conditional waiver RM 20,000 of annual spend. UOB's FAQ confirms a fee due in January 2026 is judged on spend between January and December 2025. RM 195 UOB fee table, eff. Jan 2026
PB Visa Platinum / PB Platinum Mastercard RM 333 (supp RM 150) Conditional waiver Year one waived, then a minimum of 12 swipes over the preceding 12 months. The card page carries the condition, the rates page carries the amount, and neither page carries both. RM 333 pbebank.com card + rates pages
AmBank Enrich Visa Infinite RM 500 Partial waiver, tiered RM 50,000 to RM 99,999.99 of annual spend earns a 50% waiver. RM 100,000 and above earns 100%. Spend is the 12 months of retail transactions before the fee date, principal and supplementary combined. RM 500, or RM 250 at the half tier AmBank fees PDF, eff. 11 Aug 2026
Alliance Visa Signature RM 148 from year 2 Conditional, or on request Waived if you hold active Home Financing with Alliance, or are an Alliance Privilege or Alliance Personal member. Otherwise the bank's card-page FAQ says you "may request a fee waiver by contacting our Contact Centre". RM 148, charged 15 days after your card anniversary alliancebank.com.my fees page
CIMB Cash Rebate Platinum "WAIVED" Not stated None published. CIMB's Product Disclosure Sheet dated 22 June 2026 prints the single word WAIVED with no duration, no condition, and no underlying amount. Its Travel Platinum card page says "No Annual Fee" while the same PDS says WAIVED for that card too. Not published CIMB PDS, 22 Jun 2026
RHB Visa Signature / Visa Infinite / World Mastercard "Waived" Not stated None published. RHB's Product Disclosure Sheet dated 21 August 2026 prints Waived for five cards and a ringgit figure for four others (Shell Visa RM195, Rewards RM200, Cash Back RM70, MyEG RM88). No waiver condition appears anywhere in the document. Not published RHB PDS, 21 Aug 2026

Sources, each opened and read on 27 September 2026: Hong Leong I'm Card; Public Bank credit and debit card rates; AmBank Credit Cards fees and charges, effective 11 August 2026; UOB Credit Card Annual Fee, effective January 2026; Maybank 2 Gold Cards; Standard Chartered Platinum Mastercard Basic; Alliance Bank fees and charges; CIMB Bank Credit Cards Product Disclosure Sheet dated 22 June 2026; RHB Credit Card Product Disclosure Sheet dated 21 August 2026. Fees and conditions change. Check the issuer's own page before you apply.

Every fee and every condition above came from the issuer itself, not from a comparison site and not from another page on this one. That matters because comparison sites, including the good ones, tend to copy a "no annual fee" badge forward for years after the underlying document changed.

Ready to filter by the fee line? RinggitPlus lets you sort Malaysian cards by annual fee and check eligibility from 15 or more banks in one form.

See which cards charge you nothing in year 2

The RM25 nobody puts in the headline

Malaysia taxes credit cards directly. RM25 per principal card per year, RM25 per supplementary card, charged on renewal. Six of the nine issuers we read publish that figure in their own documents: Public Bank, CIMB, RHB, UOB, Standard Chartered and AmBank. UOB's fee table carries it as a footnote under the annual fee grid. Standard Chartered prints it on the card page, one line below "Waived for life".

Alliance Bank answers the obvious follow-up question in its own FAQ, and the answer is the most useful sentence we read all morning:

"Will I still be charged the SST if my Credit Card's Annual Fee is waived or is it free-for-life? Yes, the service tax is still chargeable even if you have been granted a waiver on the Annual Fee. Can the Service Tax be waived? Just like any tax, this is imposed and is payable to the Royal Malaysian Customs Department. Therefore, we are unable to waive this amount."

So a free-for-life card costs RM25 a year, forever. Five years of holding one comes to RM125. That is not a reason to avoid a free card. It is a reason to stop treating "free" as the finish line, and to ask what the card earns you on top.

The same Alliance page adds the one piece of timing advice in this whole topic: the tax is not charged if you cancel before the card anniversary, and it suggests cancelling roughly a week early so the charge does not land. If you are sitting on a card you never use, that is the window.

Free is not automatically better, and here is the arithmetic

Take someone spending RM1,500 a month, RM18,000 over a year, with RM400 of that falling on weekends. Four outcomes, all computed on the rates each issuer published today:

Card and situation Rewards earned Annual fee paid RM25 tax Net for the year
Hong Leong I'm Card (free for life, no rewards by design) RM 0.00 RM 0.00 RM 25.00 − RM 25.00
Maybank 2 Gold Cards (free for life, 5% weekends, RM50/month cap) RM 240.00 RM 0.00 RM 25.00 + RM 215.00
PB Visa Platinum, 12 or more swipes (0.2% unlimited, fee waived) RM 36.00 RM 0.00 RM 25.00 + RM 11.00
PB Visa Platinum, a quiet year: RM3,000 spent over 9 swipes RM 6.00 RM 333.00 RM 25.00 − RM 352.00

Computed to the cent in decimal arithmetic, rounded half-up, on rates read from Public Bank, Hong Leong and Maybank on 27 September 2026. Maybank's weekday TreatsPoints are excluded because valuing a point requires assumptions we would be inventing.

Two free cards, RM240 apart. Both cost nothing to hold. One of them hands back RM240 a year for spending money you were going to spend anyway. That gap is larger than most of the annual fees on this page.

And the last row is the trap. The person who gets billed RM333 is the light user, the one who took a card "just in case" and swiped it nine times. They are precisely the reader who went looking for a no-annual-fee card in the first place. A swipe condition punishes low usage, which is the opposite of how most people assume a fee waiver works.

Run the same logic on the fee itself. On RM18,000 of annual spend, a 0.2% cashback card returns RM36.00. A card paying 5% on RM400 of weekend spend returns RM240.00. If the 5% card charged you RM195 a year and the 0.2% card were free, you would still finish RM9.00 ahead by paying the fee. The fee is never the question on its own. The fee minus what the card earns is the question. Our cashback card comparison works through the earning side in more detail, and the petrol card breakdown shows how fast a category cap changes the answer.

The strangest no-fee card in Malaysia

UOB Simple Card has no annual fee and no late payment charges, and its headline benefit is 10% cashback on finance charges, uncapped, paid when you make at least the minimum monthly payment on time. Minimum income RM24,000.

Read that benefit twice. It pays you a rebate on the interest you are being charged. Clear your balance in full every month and it returns exactly nothing, because there are no finance charges to rebate. This is a card built for someone who revolves a balance, which makes it a genuinely useful product for a specific situation and a poor default for everyone else. It also explains a footnote in UOB's own promotions: the bank's one-year annual fee waiver offer applies to every UOB credit card except the Simple Card, because there is no fee on it to waive.

Two issuers we could not read, and what we will not guess

Bank Islam and BSN are missing from the table above on purpose. The brief for this page named ten issuers. We read nine.

We could have copied a BSN or Bank Islam fee from a comparison site. On a page whose entire argument is that you should read the issuer's own document, that would be indefensible. If you hold a card from either bank, the number you need is in the Product Disclosure Sheet that came with it, or at a branch.

How Malaysians actually lose this money

The waiver conversation happens after the bill, not before. Searching r/MalaysianPF for annual fee waiver threads returns a recurring pattern going back three years: "Requesting for credit card fee waiver" (12 votes, 15 comments), "Credit card suggestions with no annual fees for the sole purpose of using airport lounges" (21 votes, 33 comments), and the one worth reading in full, "Charges for annual fee on a CC that was never activated" (11 votes, 9 comments).

In that last thread the poster describes signing up for a card at a former employer's request, never activating it, leaving the company within six months, and then receiving an SMS about an overdue balance. Their update: they called and asked for a waiver, and were told the balance had accumulated too long and the interest had built up beyond what the bank would waive. The replies are split between "call the credit service department, they are the only ones who decide" and one commenter insisting an unactivated card should not be able to charge an annual fee or the service tax at all.

Who is right is genuinely unsettled, and the documents barely help. CIMB's Product Disclosure Sheet is the only first-party wording we found that speaks to activation, and it ties the RM25 to "activation and annual renewal", which supports the commenter. The poster's experience says the charge landed anyway. Another reply mentions taking three months to cancel an unactivated card.

What is striking is what nobody in that thread mentions. Across the captured thread, "waive" appears seven times and "annual fee" three times, so the words are there and findable. "Free for life" appears zero times. "Swipe" appears zero times. "Spend" appears zero times. Nobody is discussing the condition that decides the outcome. They are negotiating after the charge has posted, which is the worst possible moment to find out your card was a waiver rather than a free-for-life card. Reddit loads comments lazily, so this describes the portion of the thread we captured, not all nine comments.

How to check your own card in four minutes

  1. Find the phrase, not the badge. Search your issuer's card page for "annual fee". If the answer is a bare "Waived" with no duration, you do not have a promise, you have a current practice.
  2. Then open the Product Disclosure Sheet. It is the document the bank is required to give you, and it is where the ringgit figure lives. CIMB's is dated 22 June 2026, RHB's 21 August 2026, AmBank's is effective 11 August 2026. All three are downloadable without logging in.
  3. Note your card anniversary month. Alliance charges 15 days after the issuance anniversary. Most issuers publish the amount but not the date, so the anniversary is the only warning you get.
  4. Count your swipes or your spend against the condition. Twelve swipes over 12 months is one transaction a month. RM20,000 a year is RM1,667 a month. Decide in January, not in December.

If you are choosing a first card rather than auditing an existing one, our best credit cards in Malaysia guide ranks by total return rather than by fee, and our grocery card comparison shows what the category caps actually pay out.

Our verdict

Our pick: Maybank 2 Gold Cards. A lifetime fee waiver on both principal and supplementary cards, 5% cashback on weekend spend capped at RM50 a month, and a RM30,000 income requirement that most working Malaysians clear. On our RM1,500-a-month scenario it nets RM215 a year after the service tax, more than any other genuinely free card we read.

Best if you want it in writing: Hong Leong I'm Card. Hong Leong is the only issuer that asks the condition question in its own FAQ and answers "no conditions attached". It also drops the 1% foreign exchange mark-up. It earns nothing, deliberately, and the bank says so: "This is because I'm is a basic credit card." For a backup card, an emergency card, or a card you keep open purely to preserve credit history, that is the right trade.

Best for overseas spend among the free cards: PB Quantum. "Free-For-Life without condition" in Public Bank's own rates table, RM36,000 minimum income, 2% cashback on overseas transactions of RM100 or more, capped at RM20 per statement cycle. The cap means RM240 a year at most, so treat it as a travel companion rather than a main card.

Who should skip the no-fee category entirely? Anyone spending above roughly RM4,000 a month. At that level the rewards on a fee-charging card outrun the fee comfortably, and UOB's own schedule is the proof: hit RM20,000 of annual spend and the RM195 on its ONE Platinum card disappears anyway. The fee is only expensive if you were never going to spend enough to cancel it out.

One thing we will not do is tell you a waiver is a promise. Public Bank, AmBank and Hong Leong wrote "no conditions" down. CIMB and RHB wrote "Waived". Those are different commitments, and only one of them is one.

Ready to compare the fee line across every Malaysian issuer? RinggitPlus puts the annual fee and the waiver condition on one screen, and submitting an eligibility check leaves no mark on your credit file.

Compare Malaysian credit cards by annual fee

Frequently Asked Questions

Is a no annual fee credit card in Malaysia really free?

No card in Malaysia is completely free. Every credit card carries a RM25 service tax per card per year, and Alliance Bank states in its own fees FAQ that this is still charged even on a card whose annual fee is waived or free for life, because it is payable to the Royal Malaysian Customs Department. Six issuers we read publish the same RM25 figure. Over five years that is RM125 on a card you were told was free.

What is the difference between 'free for life' and 'annual fee waived'?

Free for life means the fee never applies. A waiver means a fee exists and the bank is choosing not to charge it, which it can stop doing. Public Bank, AmBank and Hong Leong print an explicit unconditional phrase for some cards. CIMB and RHB print only the word 'Waived' in their Product Disclosure Sheets, with no duration, no condition and no underlying amount, so those two publish nothing you can hold them to.

How many swipes do I need to get my annual fee waived in Malaysia?

It depends on the issuer and there is no industry standard. Public Bank asks for a minimum of 12 swipes in the preceding 12 months on its Visa Gold, Visa Platinum and Visa Signature cards. UOB uses annual spend instead: RM15,000 to RM50,000 depending on the card, measured over the prior calendar year. UOB's EVOL card asks for one retail transaction per statement month. AmBank's Enrich Visa Infinite gives a 50 percent waiver at RM50,000 of spend and a full waiver at RM100,000.

Will the bank charge me the annual fee if I never activated the card?

This is disputed in practice. CIMB's Product Disclosure Sheet dated 22 June 2026 ties the RM25 service tax to activation and annual renewal, which suggests an unactivated card should not attract it. A 2025 thread in r/MalaysianPF describes exactly the opposite happening: an unused, unactivated card accrued an overdue balance, finance charges built on top, and the waiver request was refused because the balance had been left too long. Cancel a card you do not want rather than ignoring it.

Which Malaysian bank has the most no annual fee credit cards?

AmBank, on its own published schedule. Its fees document effective 11 August 2026 lists AmBank Enrich Visa Platinum, AmBank Cash Rebate, AmBank CARz Gold, AmBank Cosway Gold, AmBank Gold and the TRUE Card as 'Free For Life with no conditions', then adds a catch-all line reading 'All other AmBank Credit Cards: Free For Life with no conditions'. Maybank is close behind: 15 of the 32 cards on its listing page carry a 'Lifetime annual fee waiver' bullet.

When exactly does the annual fee get charged if I miss the condition?

Alliance Bank is the only issuer we read that publishes the timing. Its fees page says the fee is charged from the second year onwards, 15 days after the anniversary of the card's issuance date, and gives a worked example: a card issued on 1 January 2024 is charged on 16 January 2025. The other eight issuers publish the amount but not the date, so check your own anniversary month rather than waiting for the statement.

Should I cancel a credit card to avoid the annual fee and service tax?

Alliance Bank's fees page says the service tax is not charged if the card is cancelled before the anniversary date, and advises cancelling about one week before that date to avoid it being billed. Closing a card does shorten your credit history, so if the card is your oldest one, weigh that against RM25. A free-for-life card is usually worth keeping open for exactly this reason.

Last updated: 27 September 2026. Every annual fee, waiver condition and service tax figure on this page was read on that date from the issuer's own website or Product Disclosure Sheet. Bank Islam and BSN could not be read and are named as gaps rather than filled in. Fees change without much warning, so verify against the issuer before you apply.